Who voted for Article 50?

Posted on

I keep hearing the argument that MPs voted for Article 50 and so they are responsible for the mess we're in. There is some element of truth in that. So I thought I would check who did vote for us to leave the EU. The BBC reported at the time:

MPs have voted by a majority of 384 to allow Prime Minister Theresa May to get Brexit negotiations under way.

They backed the government's European Union Bill, supported by the Labour leadership, by 498 votes to 114.

But the SNP, Plaid Cymru and the Liberal Democrats opposed the bill, while 47 Labour MPs and Tory ex-chancellor Ken Clarke rebelled.

The report is not quite right. Most LibDems opposed, but not all, and it fails to mention that Caroline Lucas also opposed Article 50 notice being given.

What that makes clear is that if MPs are responsible for the mess we're in that is not true of all of them.